To quote the iconic band the Clash “should I stay or should I go?, if I go there will be trouble and if I stay it will be double”

The DIP

We all know it even though it may presently be unnamed

But “it’s complicated”

It is complicated because it isn’t so simple

We need to be very honest with ourselves

As Seth Godin points out, iconic quotes such as “once you learn to quit it becomes a habit” from Vince Lombardi Mislead us

Not always

But sometimes

Because there is this thing that Steve Pressfield coined the resistance, that try’s to dissuade us from doing our best work. The work we need to not quit.

Turns out that we need to develop calmness

We need to develop a means to view every project, every job, every endeavor from outside and determine if the struggle we are feeling is worth the pain and emotional energy

What is this thing about?

Turns out learning what to quit and getting really good at quitting is a great thing

If it’s something worth the struggle then we endure the DIP

If not we move on

Leave a Reply

I'm Emily

Welcome to Nook, my cozy corner of the internet dedicated to all things homemade and delightful. Here, I invite you to join me on a journey of creativity, craftsmanship, and all things handmade with a touch of love. Let's get crafty!

Let's connect